LHS Football Team Presents 2017 Awards (Press Release)

Updated: January 24, 2018

2017 LHS Football Team Presents Awards – Press Release

The Leominster High School Football Program held its Varsity Awards Dinner on Sunday January 21, 2018 at the Leominster/Fitchburg Lodge of Elks. The purpose was to gather the players, coaches and family members together to recognize the Blue Devils Team and individual accomplishments. Head Coach David Palazzi was master of ceremonies recalling the struggles and accomplishments of the 2017 Blue Devils Season.

He especially wanted to convey how proud he was of how the 2017 team never gave up and continued to work hard day after day as a team during a season that did not always favor the Blue Devils. He also recognized and reminded those present of the numerous individuals, community members, local businesses and organizations whose support is as essential part of the foundation that makes up Blue Devil Football.

Coach Palazzi reminded the players that although individual and team awards are nice to display what they will cherish the most are their team memories, team pictures friendships made and working together to accomplish goals.

Also recognized for their continued support and dedication were: Athletic Director- Laureen Cipolla, DPW staff who maintain and make Doyle Field one of the best in the state under the direction of Pat LaPointe, announcing duo – Dick Tucker and Patrick Frates, Superintendent Paula Deacon and The Leominster Blue Devils Football Club for its endless hard work and support of the Leominster Football Program.

All varsity players were presented with their Varsity school letters and football pins.

Coach Palazzi stresses to team member at all levels the importance of academics as part of their participation in the football program. After calculating Grade Point Averages for all players, sports gift certificates were award to players 9-12 with the highest and most improved GPAs.

The event concluded with the presentation of special awards to team members:

Leominster Blue Devils Football Club – 2017 Leominster Varsity Football Awards

Coach John Dubzinski Award (student athlete who excels in athletics, leadership and citizenship) – Cristian Nunez ; Coaches Award ( player who best exhibits the value of hard work and puts forth and honest effort each and every day) – Jack Young ; Coach John Culley Award ( exhibiting loyalty, unselfishness and dedication ) – Alex Padilla ; Coach Charlie Broderick Award (commitment and dedication to entire LHS football program) – Dom Vazquez ; Michael Curley Award ( allegiance to Leominster football – pop Warner through High School ) – Dan Morey ; Joe LeBlanc Award ( unmatched dedication both on and off the field to LHS football ) – Pat Gallagher ; Coach Leon “Huck” Hannigan Award ( commitment and dedication to LHS football ) – Connor Marchand ; Albert Mazzaferro Award ( demonstrates strong leadership qualities) – Chad Cotton ; Players Award ( dedication and desire to compete at a high athletic level ) – Mike Viola ; Luis A”Sugarbear” Austin Award ( exhibits spirit and enthusiasm toward the Leominster Football Program) – Sixto Zapata ; Coach Roger Mercier “Team 1st “ Award (player who continually puts the Football Program first and encourages the team to do the same ) – Adam Couch ; Shawn Carr Award ( given by the Carr Family to the player who exhibits utmost coach ability, dedication and loyalty to LHS football) – L:ucas Lashua ; Lane Trophy (“MVP Thanksgiving Game) – Dom Vazquez

2017 Blue Devil Football Individual Team Awards

Team MVP – Dom Vazquez MVP Offense – Adam Couch MVP Defense – Zach Delguidice Most Improved Offense – Gabe Elias Most Improved Defense – Brian Rodriguez MVP Offensive Line – Joe Conlon MVP Defensive Line – Zach Khallady Special Teams MVP – Jack Young “Blue Collar” Offense (daily, unmatched hard working attitude ) – Dan Morey “Blue Collar” Defense (daily, unmatched hard working attitude – Cristian Nunez

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This